Nobert Mao wants the presidency

The president of the Democratic Party, Nobert Mao, has declared his intentions to run for the position of the President of Uganda in the forthcoming general 2020/2021 election.

His announcement comes at the heels of another candidate, Pastor Joseph Kabuleta who announced his bid on Wednesday.

Mao’s announcement brings the total number of aspirants to 33.
Before the Covid-19 lockdown, 29 aspirants had notified the Electoral Commission of their intentions to carryout countrywide consultations, in a bid to stand for the office of the president come 2021.

Chief among them was People Power leader Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu and
Lt. Gen. Henry Tumukunde, an erstwhile ally of incumbent Predident Yoweri Museveni.
In the recent past, political pundit Charles Rwomushana and General Mugisha Muntu

have shown interest.
More are expected to publicly declare their intentions.

It’s not clear whether all are likely to make it on the nomination day, but if they do, this would make 2021 the most crowded presidential race in the history of Uganda.

And interestingly, more people are expected to express interest soon as some political parties are yet to convene their national delegates conferences to elect their presidential flag bearers.

Earlier, in March 2019, ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) lawmakers endorsed incumbent Yoweri Museveni to continue leading the party and the state.

The 33 aspirants are;

Robert Kyagulanyi aka Bobi Wine

Lt Gen Henry Tumukunde

Francis Elton Nyero Lakalle

Elton Joseph Mabirizi

Dr Moses Khalim Amin

Timothy Mugerwa

Apostle Ben Israel Sseninde

Bob Paul Akileng

Isaac Sendagire Salongo

Mathias Semusu

Joseph Mwambazi

Stephen Kaweesa

Christopher Rubaga

Ambrose Kyomukama

Charles Mutaasa Kafeero

Dr Joel Senkimpi

Yosam Makooma Tunawooza

Fred Mwesigye

John Herbert Nkangabwa

Moses Byamugisha

Fred Chemuko Wakuri

Maguru Ruhinda

Edward Nyonzima

Grace Kabarungi Muluya

Darlen Kamusiime

Pastor Godwin Sempebwa

Dan Matsiko

Dr. Amir Kabunga

Nobert Mao

Joseph Kabuleta

Mugisha Muntu

Charles Rwomushana.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.