Uganda has announced a travel ban on people from countries that have reported cases of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) in the world.

Although Uganda has not recorded any case of the disease, which has so far claimed 3,500 lives and infected over 100,000 the world over, Health Minister Dr Jane Ruth Aceng told reporters in Kampala on Saturday that travelers from at least seven countries have been urged to stay home unless they have pressing matters to attend to in Uganda.

The Minister added that travelers from these nations would undergo strict health monitoring for COVID-19 for a fortnight before they are allowed to go ahead with their projects.

“People residing in the seven countries – Italy, Iran, South Korea, France, China, Germany, and Spain – should consider postponing non-essential travel to Uganda,” advised Dr Aceng.

“Any traveler from these countries, including Ugandan nationals, will be subjected to self-quarantine for 14

days on arrival to Uganda even if they do not exhibit symptoms of COVID-19.”

Aceng also revealed that her ministry would “advise on any restrictions” for travelers from eight other countries “in the coming weeks.”

The nations put on notice are: UK, Switzerland, Norway, Netherlands, Sweden, Belgium, India, and USA. A travel ban would be determined by a “very close” study of travelers and “the evolution of the outbreak in these countries.”

“Travelers from the rest of the countries will undergo the routine screening upon arrival and be advised accordingly on the measures to undertake while in country to prevent infection and where to report if not feeling well,” further announced Aceng.

The ban is expected to hugely affect trade, investment and tourism since most of these countries are Uganda’s key partners in these areas.

Meanwhile, government has adopted a Health Ministry recommendation to “temporarily” postpone all international conferences that were due to take place in Uganda, revealed the health minister.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.